Graduate Units

The final recommendations of the Graduate Units pillar are available online.


Chaired by Professor Joshua Barker, Vice-Provost, Graduate Research & Education and Dean of the School of Graduate Studies, the Graduate Units pillar was tasked with considering questions related to graduate faculty memberships, faculty searches, the appointment of graduate chairs, and graduate units, including:

  • The purpose, creation, and location of graduate units
  • Graduate student admissions, campus affiliations, and graduate funding in tri-campus programs
  • Teaching assistant assignments across campuses
  • Graduate faculty memberships in divisions beyond arts and science divisions
  • Facilitating communication
  • Coordinating student services for graduate students

In order to support the Graduate Units pillar’s work, Professor Alan Bewell was appointed as Special Advisor to the Dean, Tri-Campus Review, on a one-year term. In this capacity, he led information gathering meetings with academic units and other affected groups at the University during 2018-19.


The Graduate Units pillar included the following members:

  • Joshua Barker, Vice-Provost, Graduate Research & Education and Dean, School of Graduate Studies (Chair)
  • Dwayne Benjamin, Vice-Dean, Graduate Education, Faculty of Arts & Science
  • Heather Boon, Vice-Provost, Faculty & Academic Life
  • Kenneth Corts, Vice-Dean, Faculty & Research, Rotman School of Management
  • Wendy Duff, Dean, Faculty of Information
  • Michael Escobar, Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
  • Ryan McClelland, Associate Dean, Academic & Student Affairs, Faculty of Music
  • Jeremy Packer, Associate Dean, Graduate, University of Toronto Mississauga
  • Mary Silcox, Vice-Dean, Graduate, University of Toronto Scarborough

Related Documents & Resources