Student Experience


This working group will consider how entities can work together to support undergraduate students pursuing U of T degrees, including establishing service and support expectations and best practices, including consideration of where these services are best provided, and the provision of equitable services and supports across colleges for:

  • Academic advising and wayfinding
  • Co-curricular experiences (including experiential and international experiences)
  • Student life
  • Mental health
  • Academic skills support
  • Policy administration (e.g., Codes)
  • Commuter students

The group will also review the role of the colleges in:

  • Creating and sustaining inclusive and respectful learning, social, and working environments
  • Involving graduate students
  • Supporting student experience in first-entry divisions other than the Faculty of Arts and Science
  • The role of Fellows in supporting the above


The Student Experience Working Group will include the following members:

  • Sandy Welsh, Vice-Provost, Students (Co-Chair) (On leave October 1, 2020 – March 1, 2021)
  • Micah Stickel, Acting Vice-Provost, Students (Acting Co-Chair while Professor Welsh is on leave)
  • Dwayne Benjamin, Provostial Advisor on Recruitment, Enrolment, and Educational Space & Technology (Co-Chair)
  • Markus Stock, Principal, University College
  • Yvette Ali, Registrar, Victoria University
  • Robert Batey, Chair, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Arts & Science
  • Alana Boland, Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning, Faculty of Arts & Science
  • Vicki Lowes, Director of Experiential Learning, Faculty of Arts & Science
  • David Newman, Executive Director, Student Experience, Division of Student Life
  • Lance McCready, Interim Director, Transitional Year Program
  • Leah McCormack-Smith, Dean of Students, New College
  • Support: Julia Smeed, Manager, Innovation Projects

Related Documents & Resources

Materials related to the Working Group will be posted here as they become available.