President’s Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President and Provost

PDADC #35, 2014-15

To:  Governing Council
Academic Board
Business Board
University Affairs Board
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff
President of UTFA
Presidents of Employee Unions
Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU 
From:      Professor Meric Gertler, President 
Date:  October 29, 2014
Re:  President’s Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President and Provost 

As I announced on September 24, 2014 Professor Cheryl Regehr will be completing her term as Vice-President and Provost on February 28, 2015. As noted in that memorandum Professor Regehr’s 18-month appointment was designed to ensure continuity of strong leadership during the administrative transition leading up to and following my taking office, and she is eligible for reappointment and for continuation in her role.

Following a call for nominations, I am pleased to announce that the membership of the Advisory Committee, which I will chair, is as follows:

Professor Donald Ainslie, Principal, University College
Mr. Larry Alford, Chief Librarian
Professor Heather Boon, Dean, Leslie L. Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
Professor Kenneth Corts, Director, Rotman Commerce and Associate Dean Undergraduate Education, Rotman School of Management
Mr. David Reid Dobell, Undergraduate Student, Faculty of Arts & Science
Ms Ellen Dyer, Graduate Student, Department of Physics, Faculty of Arts & Science
Ms Sally Garner, Executive Director, Planning & Budget Office
Professor Kelly Hannah-Moffat, Department of Sociology and Vice-Dean, Undergraduate, University of Toronto Mississauga
Professor Matthew Hoffman, Department of Political Science, University of Toronto Scarborough
Ms Claire Kennedy, Lieutenant Governor-in-Council member of the Governing Council
Professor Sal Spadafora, Professor, Department of Anesthesia & Vice Dean Post Graduate Medical Education, Faculty of Medicine
Ms Elizabeth Vosburgh, Alumna
Professor Christopher Yip, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering and Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Arts and Science, and Director, Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering

As the Advisory Committee’s first task will be to undertake a review and advise me on the Office of the Vice-President and Provost and on priorities that should be considered for the Provost, the Committee is interested in receiving comments and advice on these matters to inform its review. Comments should be submitted via the confidential online form available at by Wednesday November 12, 2014.

Questions should be directed to the Secretary, Mr. Louis Charpentier at