Advisory Committee for the Appointment of the Dean of the Faculty of Law

PDAD&C#53, 2013-14 

To:  Faculty, Students, and Staff, Faculty of Law
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs 
From:          Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost

April 11, 2014 

Cc:  President Meric Gertler
The Bulletin
Re:  Advisory Committee for the Appointment of the Dean of the Faculty of Law

As announced on February 24, 2014, Professor Mayo Moran has accepted the position of Provost at Trinity College. In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President Meric Gertler has appointed a Committee to recommend the appointment of a new Dean of the Faculty of Law. The composition of the Committee is as follows:

• Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost (Chair)
• Ms. Alexis Archbold, Assistant Dean, Student Services
• Professor David Cameron, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
• Professor Brian Corman, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Education
• Professor Anthony Duggan, Faculty of Law
• Ms. Jean Fraser, Partner, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
• Mr. Aaron Hunt, JD/MBA Student, Faculty of Law
• Professor Karen Knop, Faculty of Law
• Ms. Natalie Lum-Tai, JD Student, Faculty of Law
• Mr. John Papadopoulos, Chief Law Librarian
• Professor Peter Pauly, Interim Dean, Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
• Professor Mariana Mota Prado, Faculty of Law
• Ms. Jennifer Raso, SJD Student, Faculty of Law
• Professor Arthur Ripstein, Faculty of Law
• Professor Douglas Sanderson, Faculty of Law

Following a formal Request for Proposals and a rigorous selection process, we have engaged the firm of Laverne Smith & Associates to assist the Advisory Committee in its work. The Advisory Committee welcomes comments about the qualities sought in a Dean and nominations from interested persons, using the following website:, or via email to

Questions about this search should be directed to search consultant Laverne Smith at