President’s Teaching Award Recipients

PDAD&C#57, 2012-13

To:  PDAD&C 
From:    Cheryl Misak, Vice-President & Provost 
Date:  May 3, 2013 
Re:  President's Teaching Award Recipients

I am extremely pleased to announce that at its meeting on May 2, the Academic Board approved the appointment of the 2012-13 President's Teaching Award Recipients. They are as follows:

o Dr. Chris Perumalla, Department of Physiology and Division of Teaching Laboratories (DTL), Faculty of Medicine
o Professor Lawrence Sawchuk, Department of Anthropology, UTSC
o Professor Alissa Trotz, Women & Gender Studies Institute and Caribbean Studies Program, Faculty of Arts & Science

The President's Teaching Award recognizes sustained excellence in teaching, research on teaching, and the integration of teaching and research. Recipients of a President's Teaching Award are designated as a member of the Teaching Academy for a minimum period of five-years and receive an annual professional development allowance of $10,000 for five years.

The biographies of this year's recipients as well as more information about the President's Teaching Award are available at

In addition to congratulating this year's recipients, I would also like to thank the nominators for preparing the dossiers and the members of the Selection Committee for reviewing the nominations.