Appointment of New Vice-Provost and Dean of Arts, Trinity College

PDAD&C#3, 2012-13

From:     Andy Orchard, Provost, Trinity College
Date:  July 13, 2012 
Re:  Appointment of New Vice-Provost and Dean of Arts, Trinity College 

Provost Orchard and the Board of Trustees are pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Michael Ratcliffe as Vice-Provost and Dean of Arts of Trinity College effective July 1, 2012.

Michael Ratcliffe graduated from the University of Glasgow with an Honours B.Sc. in Biochemistry in 1976 and obtained his Ph.D. in Immunology from University College, London in 1980. He was appointed Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology at McGill University in 1986, Associate Professor in 1991 and Professor in 1998. In 2001, he was appointed Professor and Chair of the Department of Immunology at the University of Toronto and Senior Scientist, Molecular and Cell Biology at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. He became an Associate of Trinity College in 2002 and a Fellow of the College in 2008, and has been a member of the Senate since 2009.

Professor Ratcliffe is the recipient of several research awards and is a member of national and international immunology societies, grant review panels, and editorial boards, as well as hospital and university committees.

He is the author of 87 peer-reviewed publications, a prominent speaker at major national and international conferences and has been an invited lecturer at universities around the world. His laboratory has a long-standing interest in defining the molecular processes that regulate the development of the B lymphocyte lineage and has had continuous funding from the Canadian MRC (subsequently CIHR) since its establishment at McGill University. Professor Ratcliffe is a full member of the School of Graduate Studies at the University of Toronto and has supervised 42 graduate students over his academic career.

Trinity College and the Department of Immunology at the University of Toronto have collaborated in offering a specialist programme in immunology since 1985-86 and a major programme since 2009-10.