Advisory Search Committee for the Dean of Arts (Principal), Trinity College

PDAD&C#41, 2011-12

To:     PDAD&C 
From:   Andy Orchard, Provost, Trinity College
Date:   February 2, 2012
Re:   Advisory Search Committee for the Dean of Arts (Principal), Trinity College

Professor Derek Allen will complete his third and final term as Vice-Provost and Dean of Arts of Trinity College on June 30, 2012.

In accordance with the Statutes and Certain Regulations of Trinity College and the terms of the Federation Framework Agreement, Provost Andy Orchard has struck a committee to recommend the appointment of the Dean of Arts of Trinity College. This position is similar to the role of Principal in other Federated Colleges.

The composition of the committee is as follows:

Professor Andy Orchard (Chair) - The Provost, Trinity College
Professor Jill Matus - Vice-Provost, Students, University of Toronto
Professor Meric Gertler, Dean, Arts & Science, University of Toronto
Professor David Neelands, Dean, Faculty of Divinity, Trinity College
Professor Michael Steinhauser - Chair of the Senate, Trinity College
Professor Lawrin Armstrong, Fellow, Faculty of Arts, Trinity College
Mr. Nelson De Melo - Registrar, Trinity College
Ms. Katie Dunlop, Student, Faculty of Arts, Trinity College
Ms. Helen Yarish - Human Resources Officer & Secretary of the Corporation, Trinity College

The Advisory Search Committee welcomes comments and nominations from interested persons. These should be sent to the attention of Helen Yarish, by February 24, 2012 by mail (Trinity College, 6 Hoskin Avenue) or by email to

Further information can be found on the Trinity College website at