Advisory Search Committee for Chief Librarian

PDAD&C #3, 2010-11


To: Staff of the University of Toronto Library
From:      Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost
CC: President David Naylor
The Bulletin and e-bulletin
Date: July 13, 2010
Re: Advisory Search Committee for Chief Librarian

As announced on May 26, 2010, Ms. Carole Moore will complete her current term as Chief Librarian of the University on June 30, 2011. Ms. Moore has indicated she will not be seeking re-appointment.

In accordance with Section 66 of the Policy on Librarians, President David Naylor has appointed a committee to recommend the appointment of a Chief Librarian. The composition of the committee is as follows:

Prof. Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost (Chair)
Mr. Alfred Cheng, Chief Administrative Officer, UTL
Prof. Meric Gertler, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
Prof. Rick Halpern, Dean and Vice-Principal, Academic, University of Toronto Scarborough
Ms. Julie Hannaford, Director, Information Resources & Services OISE Library, Education Commons
Ms. Margaret Kim, Undergraduate Student, Department of Political Science, Faculty of Arts and Science
Ms. Sandra Langlands, Director, Gerstein Science Information Centre
Ms. Joan Leishman, Deputy Chief Librarian
Mr. Michael Meth, Director, Li Koon Chun Finance Learning Center, University of Toronto Mississauga
Mrs. Maureen Morin, Graphic Designer, Information Technology Services, University of Toronto Libraries
Mr. John Papadopoulos, Chief Law Librarian, Bora Laskin Law Library, Faculty of Law
Prof. Seamus Ross, Dean, Faculty of Information
Ms. Tina Smith, Senior Lecturer and Director, MHSc Health Administration Program, Department of Health Policy Management and Evaluation, Faculty of Medicine
Ms. Caitlin Tillman, Head, Collection Development Department, UTL

The Advisory Committee for the search welcomes comments and nominations from interested persons. These should be sent to the attention of Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, by September 17, 2010 by mail (Room 225, Simcoe Hall) or by email to