Advisory Committee - Search for the Dean of the Faculty of Music

PDAD&C #31 , 2007-08


To: Staff and Students of the Faculty of Music
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
From: Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date: November 29, 2007
Re: Advisory Committee - Search for the Dean of the Faculty of Music
cc: President David Naylor
The Bulletin

As announced on September 18, Professor Gage Averill was appointed Vice-Principal and Dean, University of Toronto at Mississauga effective October 15, 2007. Professor Russell Hartenberger has been appointed Interim Dean of the Faculty.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President David Naylor has appointed a committee to recommend the appointment of a Dean of the Faculty. The composition of the committee is as follows:

  • Professor Cheryl Misak, Deputy Provost (Chair)
  • Ms. Mona Kelly Bernardi, Alumna
  • Professor William Bowen, Department of Humanities, University of Toronto at Scarborough
  • Ms. Elaine Choi, Undergraduate Student, Faculty of Music
  • Professor Lori Dolloff, Faculty of Music
  • Ms. Loie Fallis, Artistic Administrator, Toronto Symphony Orchestra
  • Professor John Haines, Faculty of Music
  • Professor Christos Hatzis, Faculty of Music
  • Mr. Kevin Howey, Assistant Dean, Operations, Faculty of Music
  • Professor David Klausner, Centre for Medieval Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Professor Ryan McClelland, Faculty of Music
  • Professor James Parker, Faculty of Music
  • Mr. Daniel Rutzen, Graduate Student, Faculty of Music
  • Ms. Suzanna Meyers Sawa, Faculty of Music
  • Professor Berry Smith, Vice-Dean Students, School of Graduate Studies

The Committee welcomes comments and nominations from interested persons. These should be sent to the attention of Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, by December 21, 2007, via fax (416.978.3939), mail (Room 225, Simcoe Hall) or by email to