Advisory Committee for a Principal of Woodsworth College

PDAD&C #26, 2006-07


To: Faculty, Staff and Students of Woodsworth College
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
cc: President David Naylor
The Bulletin
From: Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date: November 16, 2006
Re: Advisory Committee for a Principal of Woodsworth College

Professor Mariel O'Neil-Karch's term as Principal of Woodsworth College ends on June 30, 2007.  In accordance with section 62 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President David Naylor has appointed a committee to recommend the appointment of a Principal of Woodsworth College, effective July 1, 2007.  The composition of the committee is as follows:

  • Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost (Co-Chair)
  • Professor David Farrar, Deputy Provost and Vice-Provost, Students (Co-Chair)
  • Ms Yvette Ali, Director, International and Professional Programs
  • Professor John Browne, HPME / Woodsworth
  • Mrs. Bernice Frieday, President, Woodsworth College Alumni Association
  • Professor Rosemary Gartner, Criminology / Woodsworth
  • Mr. Tim Harrison, student
  • Professor Janet Paterson, Principal, Innis College
  • Ms Athmika Punja, President, Woodsworth Residence Council
  • Professor Frank Reid, Director, Industrial Relations and Human Resources
  • Ms Barbara Rose, Senior Lecturer
  • Professor Wendy Rotenberg, Director, Commerce Program
  • Ms Cheryl Shook, Registrar
  • Professor Pekka Sinervo, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Professor Berry Smith, Vice-Dean, Student, School of Graduate Studies
  • Ms Helen Vavougois, President, Woodsworth Student Association

The Committee would welcome nominations for Principal and comments from interested persons.  Nominations can be made online by selecting here or they should be sent to the attention of Carol Robb, Assistant Vice-Provost, by December 15, 2006.  Carol can be reached by phone at 416-978-6662, fax at 416-971-1380 or e-mail at