17 Public Policy and Governance

PDAD&C#17, 2005-06


From: Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date: September 28, 2005
Re: Public Policy and Governance

As you know, one of the five institutional interdisciplinary priorities identified in Stepping Up is public policy and governance, building on the work of the Task Force on Public Policy Studies which reported in January 2004. [The Report is available at http://www.provost.utoronto.ca/English/Reports.html].  I am writing to update you on developments in this area.

The Faculties of Arts and Science, Law, and Medicine, the Rotman School of Management and OISE/UT are jointly funding a secondment for Professor Mark Stabile, who is cross-appointed between the UTM Department of Economics and the Rotman School of Management, to work on this initiative during the 2005-06 academic year.  Professor Carolyn Tuohy has agreed to chair a small administrative steering committee (membership below) which will guide the development of an academic proposal and business plan, including a submission to the December AIF competition.

I am very pleased that Ms. Pamela Bryant, a member of the Ontario Public Service with a long record of service and accomplishment, most recently as Assistant Deputy Minister for Modernization in the Cabinet Office, has been seconded by the Secretary of Cabinet to work full-time with U of T on this initiative. This is a generous and supportive undertaking on the Government of Ontario for which we are very appreciative.

Carolyn, Mark and Pam will be working with the steering committee in the coming months and will be consulting broadly within and outside the University. They can be contacted at c.tuohy@utoronto.ca or mark.stabile@utoronto.ca.

I thank Carolyn, Mark and Pam for taking on these responsibilities and look forward to receiving a proposal in due course.

Administrative Steering Committee Membership

  • Professor Carolyn Tuohy, Department of Political Science (Chair)
  • Professor Meric Gertler, Vice-Dean, Graduate Education and Research, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Professor Lorne Sossin, Associate Dean, Faculty of Law
  • Professor Roger Martin, Dean/Professor
  • Peter Pauly, Associate Dean, Research and Academic Resources, Rotman School of Management
  • Professor Catharine Whiteside, Interim Dean, Faculty of Medicine
  • Professor Norman Labrie, Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies, OISE/UT
  • Professor James Barber, Dean, Faculty of Social Work
  • Professor Susan Pfeiffer, Vice-Provost, Graduate Education and Dean, School of Graduate Studies
  • Professor Rashmi Desai, Vice-Dean, School of Graduate Studies
  • Professor Edith Hillan, Vice-Provost, Academic