Accommodations for Religious Observances

PDAD&C #13, 2003-04

M E M O R A N D U M 

To: Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
From: Shirley Neuman, Vice President & Provost
Date: October 6, 2003
Re: Accommodations for Religious Observances

I am writing to remind you of the University's commitment concerning the scheduling of classes and examinations and accommodation for religious observances.  The University of Toronto welcomes and includes students, staff and faculty from a broadly diverse range of communities and backgrounds.  It is the University's policy and commitment to arrange reasonable accommodation of the needs of members of the University community who observe religious Holy Days other than those already accommodated by ordinary scheduling and statutory holidays. It is important that no University member be seriously disadvantaged because of her or his religious observances.  For example, students may wish to be excused from classes or examinations for religious reasons on Holy Days or on the Jewish Sabbath (one- and a-half hours before sunset Friday to one-and-a-half hours after sunset Saturday), or on Friday at 1:00 p.m. for Muslim community prayers.

Students have a responsibility to alert members of the teaching staff in a timely fashion to upcoming religious observances and anticipated absences. Every effort should be made to avoid scheduling tests, examinations or other compulsory activities at these times.  If compulsory activities are unavoidable, every reasonable opportunity should be given to these students to make up work that they miss, particularly in courses involving laboratory work.  When the scheduling of tests or examinations cannot be avoided, students should be informed of the procedure to be followed to arrange to write at an alternate time.

The relevant dates for the remainder of this academic year and the next year are attached.  For more information regarding religious observances and Holy Days or for assistance with devising reasonable accommodation, you may contact the Office of Student Affairs at 416-978-5536.

ACCOMMODATION FOR RELIGIOUS OBSERVANCES

 

SEPTEMBER   2003 - 2004

SEPTEMBER  2004 - 2005

Rosh Hashanah

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Friday September 26 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Sunday September 28, 2003.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Wednesday September 15 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Friday September 17, 2004.

Yom Kippur

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Sunday October 5 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Monday October 6, 2003.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Friday September 24 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Saturday September 25, 2004.

Sukkot

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Friday October 10 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Sunday October 12, 2003.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Wednesday September 29 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Friday October 1, 2004.

Ramadan

Monday October 27 to Wednesday November 26, 2003. Muslims may fast from dawn to dusk, abstaining from food and drink.  Examinations scheduled in the evening may pose a special burden.

Friday October 15 to Sunday November 14, 2004. Muslims may fast from dawn to dusk, abstaining from food and drink.  Examinations scheduled in the evening may pose a special burden.

Eid-ul-Fitr

Wednesday November 26 and Thursday November 27, 2003

Sunday November 14 and Monday November 15, 2004.

Lunar New Year

Thursday January 22, 2004.

Wednesday February 9, 2005.

Eid-ul-Adha

Sunday February 1, and Monday February 2, 2004.

Thursday January 20, and Friday January 21, 2005.

First two days of Passover

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Monday April 5 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Wednesday April 7, 2004.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Saturday April 23 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Monday April 25, 2005.

Last two days of Passover

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Sunday April 11 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Tuesday April 13, 2004.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Friday April 29 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Sunday May 1, 2005.

Shavuot

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Tuesday May 25 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Thursday May 27, 2004.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Sunday June 12 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Tuesday June 14, 2005.



* Note:  Some observances are based on the lunar calendar, and thus may vary by one or two days.