Appointment of 2015 University Professors

PDAD&C #94, 2014-15


Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs


Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost


President Meric Gertler
The Bulletin


June 1, 2015

Re: Appointment of 2015 University Professors

I am pleased to announce that the Academic Board approved the appointment of three University Professors for 2015, at its meeting this morning. U of T recognizes its most outstanding scholars with the designation of 'University Professor’. We are delighted to formally acknowledge the achievements of the faculty members below by granting them the University’s most prestigious and distinguished rank.

The newest members of this exceptional group are as follows:

  • Professor David Dyzenhaus, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Arts & Science, Department of Philosophy
  • Professor Thomas Keymer, Faculty of Arts & Science, Department of English
  • Professor Edward Sargent, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

I would like to thank the members of the Selection Committee for their work in reviewing the many excellent candidates. I also thank all of the nominators who prepared dossiers for submission.

The biographies of the 2015 University Professors are available at our website:

Please join me in congratulating the 2015 University Professors on this outstanding achievement.