President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a VP Research and Innovation and Call for Nominations

PDAD&C#67, 2013-14

To:  Governing Council
Academic Board                       
Business Board
University Affairs Board
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff
President of UTFA
Presidents of Employee Unions
Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU




Professor Meric Gertler, President

Date:  May 27, 2014  
Re:  President’s Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President Research and Innovation and Call for Nominations                                                                                                                                                                                        

As I announced on March 6, 2014, Professor Paul Young has communicated to me his intent to step down as Vice-President, Research and Innovation effective June 30, 2014, to return to the ranks as full professor in the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering.
At that time I indicated that I would establish a representative Advisory Committee, which I will chair, to advise me on the appointment of Professor Young’s successor. 
Following a call for nominations, I am pleased to announce that the membership of the Advisory Committee is as follows:
Professor Brenda Andrews, Director, Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research, Faculty of Medicine
Professor Malcolm Campbell, Department of Biological Sciences, UTSC; Department of Cell & Systems Biology, Faculty of Arts and Science; and, Vice-Principal, Research, UTSC
Ms Judith Chadwick, Assistant Vice-President, Research Services
Professor Alexandra Gillespie, Department of English and Drama, UTM
Mr. Jason Grenier, Graduate Student, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
Ms Lauren Norman, Graduate Student, Department of Anthropology, Faculty of Arts & Science
Professor Ito Peng, Department of Sociology and School of Public Policy and Governance, Faculty of Arts & Science
Professor Jay Pratt, Department of Psychology and Vice-Dean, Research and Infrastructure, Faculty of Arts & Science
Professor Keren Rice, Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts & Science
Professor Locke Rowe, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education
Professor Molly Shoichet, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering; Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Arts & Science; and, the Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering
Professor Arthur Slutsky, Department of Respirology, Faculty of Medicine and Vice-President, Research, St. Michael’s Hospital
Ms Karen Greve Young, Vice-President, Partnerships, MaRS
The Advisory Committee is interested in receiving advice on priorities that the Committee should consider in refining the mandate for the next Vice-President and qualities that should be sought in the next Vice-President to ensure execution of the mandate. Comments should be submitted via the online form available at
by Friday, June 13, 2014.  Following input on the mandate and qualities, a call for nominations and a position profile will be distributed.
Questions should be directed to the Secretary, Mr. Louis Charpentier at