2014 President’s Teaching Award Recipients

PDAD&C#58, 2013-14

To:  Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs 
From:      Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date:  May 2, 2014
Re:  2014 President’s Teaching Award Recipients 

I am delighted to announce that the Academic Board approved the appointment of the 2014 President’s Teaching Award Recipients at yesterday’s meeting.  They are as follows:

• Dr. Don Boyes, Department of Geography, Faculty of Arts & Science

• Professor Shafique Virani, Distinguished Professor of Islamic Studies, Chair, Department of Historical Studies, UTM

The President’s Teaching Award recognizes sustained excellence and innovation in teaching, research on pedagogy, and the integration of teaching and research. Recipients of the President's Teaching Award are designated as members of the Teaching Academy for a minimum period of five years and receive an annual professional development allowance of $10,000 for five years.

The biographies of this year’s recipients as well as more information about the President’s Teaching Award are available at:

In addition to congratulating this year’s recipients, I would like to thank the nominators for their care in preparing the recipients’ dossiers and the members of the Selection Committee for their time and dedication to recognizing excellence in teaching at U of T.