Advisory Committee for the Appointment of a Dean, Faculty of Medicine

PDAD&C #22, 2013-14

To: Faculty, Staff and Students of the Faculty of Medicine
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
From:    Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost
Date: November 1, 2013
Re: Advisory Committee for the Appointment of a Dean, Faculty of Medicine
cc: President Meric Gertler
The Bulletin

As announced in PDAD&C #14 on September 4, 2013, Professor Catharine Whiteside will complete her second term as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Vice-Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions on December 31, 2014. In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President David Naylor appointed an advisory committee to recommend the appointment of a new Dean. The composition of the committee is as follows:

• Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost (Chair)
• Mr. Larry Alford, Chief Librarian
• Professor Zubin Austin, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
• Professor Dina Brooks, Department of Physical Therapy and Graduate Coordinator, Graduate Department of Rehabilitation Sciences
• Professor Brian Corman, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Education
• Professor Patrick Gullane, Department of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery; University Health Network
• Mr. Justin Hall, Undergraduate Student
• Mr. Kevin Koo, Postgraduate Student
• Professor Stephen G. Matthews, Chair, Department of Physiology
• Professor Amy Mullin, Vice-Principal (Academic) and Dean, University of Toronto Mississauga
• Ms. Morag Paton, Education Scholarship Coordinator, Department of Family & Community Medicine
• Professor Janet Rossant, Department of Molecular Genetics; Chief of Research, SickKids Hospital; Chair, Toronto Academic Health Science Network Research Committee
• Professor Locke Rowe, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Faculty of Arts & Science
• Professor Ross Upshur, Department of Family & Community Medicine; Dalla Lana School of Public Health; Bridgepoint Health
• Professor Catherine Zahn, President and CEO, CAMH; Division of Neurology, Department of Medicine

Following a formal Request for Proposals and a rigorous selection process, we have engaged the firm of Laverne Smith & Associates to assist the Advisory Committee in its work. The Advisory Committee welcomes comments about the qualities sought in a Dean and nominations from interested persons, using the following website:, or via email to