Nominations for Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Science

PDAD&C #41, 2012-13


To: Faculty, Staff and Students, Faculty of Arts & Science
From:    Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost
CC: President David Naylor
The Bulletin
Date:   March 6, 2013
Re: Nominations for an Interim Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Science and
Nominations for the Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Science

As announced on Monday by the Chair of Governing Council, Dean Meric Gertler has been appointed the 16th President of the University of Toronto. I extend my warmest congratulations to our President-Designate, and thank the Faculty of Arts and Science for producing a leader with such integrity, grace, ability, and vision.

As we move towards the Presidential transition, I am soliciting input from faculty, staff and students of the Faculty of Arts & Science on the appointment of an Interim Dean. Nominations and thoughts about the desired qualities of the Interim Dean should be sent to Assistant Provost Archana Sridhar at by March 18, 2013.

In addition and in accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, I am also writing to call for nominations of individuals to serve on the Committee that will advise the President on the appointment of a new Dean.

The Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators mandates the composition of the search committee as follows:

• The Vice-President and Provost or representative (Chair);
• Three to five members of the teaching staff of the Faculty;
• One to three students of the Faculty;
• The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
• A librarian, where appropriate;
• Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside the Faculty.
• In addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a and a member of the administrative staff.

Nominations for members of the Advisory Committee should be submitted by April 1, 2013, via the Provost’s website online form at: