President’s Teaching Award Recipients

PDAD&C#57, 2011-12

From:     Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost
Date: April 20, 2012
Re: President's Teaching Award Recipients

I am pleased to announce that at its meeting on April 26 the Academic Board approved the appointment of the 2011-12 President's Teaching Award Recipients. They are as follows:

o Senior Lecturer Karen Reid, Department of Computer Science, Faculty of Arts & Science

o Professor Ivan Silver, Department of Psychiatry, Faculty of Medicine

o Professor Jim Wallace, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

The President's Teaching Award recognizes sustained excellence in teaching, research on teaching, and the integration of teaching and research. Recipients of a President's Teaching Award are designated as a member of the Teaching Academy for a minimum period of five-years and receive an annual professional development allowance of $10,000 for five years.

The biographies of this year's recipients as well as more information about the President's Teaching Award are available at

In addition to congratulating this year's recipients, I would also like to thank the nominators for preparing the dossiers and the members of the Selection Committee for reviewing the nominations.