President's Teaching Award Recipients

PDAD&C#72, 2010-11

 Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost
Date:  April 27, 2011
Re:  President's Teaching Award Recipients

I am pleased to announce that at its meeting on April 26 the Academic Board approved the appointment of the 2010-11 President's Teaching Award Recipients.  They are as follows:

* Senior Lecturer Paul Gries, Department of Computer Science, Faculty of Arts & Science

* Professor Mark Kingwell, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts & Science

* Senior Lecturer June Larkin, Women and Gender Studies Institute, Faculty of Arts & Science 

* Professor Michael Lettieri, Department of Language Studies, University of Toronto Mississauga

* Professor Susan Lieff, Department of Psychiatry, Faculty of Medicine

The President's Teaching Award recognizes sustained excellence in teaching, research on teaching, and the integration of teaching and research. Recipients of a President's Teaching Award are designated as a member of the Teaching Academy for a five-year period and receive an annual professional development allowance of $10,000 for five years.

The biographies of this year's recipients as well as more information about the President's Teaching Award are available at

In addition to congratulating this year's recipients, I would also like to thank the nominators for preparing the dossiers and the members of the Selection Committee for reviewing the nominations.