Nominations for the Advisory Search Committee for Dean of the Faculty of Law

PDAD&C# 83, 2009-10


To: Faculty, Staff and Students, Faculty of Law
From:    Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost
CC: President David Naylor
The Bulletin
Date: April 26, 2010
Re: Nominations for the Advisory Search Committee for Dean of the Faculty of Law

On June 30, 2011, Professor Mayo Moran will complete her first term as Dean of the Faculty of Law. Professor Moran is eligible for re-appointment.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, I am writing to call for nominations for the advisory committee that will advise the President on the appointment of a Dean. The Policy mandates the potential composition of the advisory committee as follows:

* The Vice-President and Provost or representative (Chair);
* Three to five members of the teaching staff of the Faculty;
* One to three students of the Faculty;
* The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
* A librarian, where appropriate;
* Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside the Faculty;
* In addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff, and a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

The advisory committee will begin meeting this fall.

Nominations for the committee should be sent by May 7, via the Vice-President and Provost's web site online form at  

Questions should be directed to Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Academic Programs and Policy by phone at 416.946.0501 or email