President's Teaching Award Recipients

PDAD&C#78, 2009-10


From:       Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost
Date: April 22, 2010
Re: President's Teaching Award Recipients

I am pleased to announce that at its meeting on April 21 the Academic Board approved the appointment of the 2009-10 President's Teaching Award Recipients. They are as follows:

o Professor Robert Brym, Department of Sociology, Faculty of Arts & Science

o Professor Steve Joordens, Department of Psychology, University of Toronto Scarborough

o Senior Lecturer Barbara Murck, Department of Geography, University of Toronto Mississauga

o Professor Paul Stevens, Department of English, Faculty of Arts & Science

o Professor Mike Wiley, Division of Anatomy, Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medicine

The President's Teaching Award recognizes sustained excellence in teaching, research on teaching, and the integration of teaching and research. Recipients of a President's Teaching Award are designated as a member of the Teaching Academy for a five-year period and receive an annual professional development allowance of $10,000 for five years.

The biographies of this year's recipients as well as more information about the President's Teaching Award are available at  

In addition to congratulating this year's recipients, I would also like to thank the nominators for preparing the dossiers and the members of the Selection Committee for reviewing the nominations.