President's Teaching Award Nominations

PDAD&C#38, 2009-10


From:     Cheryl Misak, Vice-President & Provost
Date: November 11, 2009
Re: President's Teaching Award Nominations

The university-wide President's Teaching Award recognizes sustained excellence in teaching, research in teaching, and the integration of teaching and research. We encourage nominations of colleagues whose achievements are truly outstanding for this very special form of recognition by the University of Toronto.

President's Teaching Award winners receive an annual professional development allowance of $10,000 for five years. Recipients of a President's Teaching Award are also designated by the University as a member of the Teaching Academy for a minimum period of five years; those wishing to continue participation in the Academy after this term may elect to do so.

Members of the Teaching Academy meet regularly as a body to discuss matters relevant to teaching in the University, offer advice to the Vice President and Provost and the Director of the Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation (CTSI), assist in the assessment of teaching when required and function as advocates for excellence in teaching within and without the University. Members of the Teaching Academy have also been asked to participate in a range of university events, including addressing Convocation, delivering public lectures, participating in conferences and new faculty orientations, or facilitating teaching and learning workshops.

Nomination and Selection Process
The President's Teaching Award winners are determined by a process of nomination and selection by a committee chaired by the Vice-President and Provost. Nominations are solicited through the Deans of Faculties who request submissions from within their divisions. The office of the Dean is responsible for the compilation of documentation but they may request assistance from the Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation.

The nomination dossier should include strong evidence of excellence in the classroom, innovation in the development and delivery of the curriculum, publication of textbooks or books or articles on pedagogy, participation in major conferences or meetings relating to pedagogy, local, national or international teaching recognition, and letters of reference attesting to the nominee's outstanding leadership in teaching. When preparing a nomination package, nominators should consult the Selection Procedures & Nomination Guidelines (see

Nominators may wish to attend the Brown Bag lunchtime discussion hosted by the Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation: Preparing a Nomination Dossier for the President's Teaching Award on November 24th from 12noon to 1:30pm. To register, please visit:  

The nomination deadline is 12 February 2010.

Enquiries regarding the President's Teaching Award and nomination procedures should be directed to Pam Gravestock, Associate Director, Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation (CTSI) at 416-946-8585 (t) or  

President's Teaching Award Recipients and Teaching Academy Members

The University of Toronto Teaching Academy, founded in 2006, consists of members who have received the President's Teaching Award, the highest honour for teaching at the University of Toronto. While individual members of the Academy serve as teaching ambassadors, the collective advances teaching as a valued pillar at the University of Toronto.

Through their activities, these educators play a prominent role in increasing the profile of the University's commitment to high quality learning and teaching. The establishment of the Teaching Academy has created a valuable network of people who provide leadership, advice and support to division, department, and central initiatives, as well as to University administration. The Teaching Academy also plays an advisory role for the Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation. The Teaching Academy is committed to university-wide advocacy for teaching and learning based on their involvement in a range of yearly initiatives. The goal of the Teaching Academy is to contribute to the advancement of teaching at the University and reflect the wide range of excellent teaching styles and approaches.

The following individuals have received the President's Teaching Award and are members of the Teaching Academy:

Andy Dicks, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Arts & Science
Nick Mount, Department of English, Faculty of Arts & Science
Martin Schreiber, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine

Zubin Austin, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
Helen P. Batty, Department of Family and Community Medicine, Faculty of Medicine
Yu-Ling Cheng, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
Clare Hasenkampf, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Toronto Scarborough

Marion Bogo, Faculty of Social Work
David Dunne, Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Corey Goldman, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Faculty of Arts & Science
Susan McCahan, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
Judith Poe, Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences, University of Toronto Mississauga

Ken Bartlett, Department of History, Faculty of Arts & Science
John Percy, Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences, University of Toronto Mississauga
Richard Reznick, Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medicine
Keren Rice, Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts & Science
Carol Rolheiser, Department of Curriculum, Teaching & Learning, OISE/UT