Advisory Committee Search for the Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry

PDAD&C # 5, 2007-08



To: Staff and Students of the Faculty of Dentistry
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
From: Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date: August 29, 2007
Re: Advisory Committee - Search for the Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry
cc : President David Naylor
The Bulletin 

As announced on May 24, on June 30, 2008, Professor David Mock will complete his term as Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry. Professor Mock is eligible for re-appointment.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President David Naylor has appointed a committee to recommend the appointment of a Dean of the Faculty. The composition of the committee is as follows:

  • Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost (Chair)
  • Ms Donna Crossan, Assistant Dean, Administration, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Professor Dennis Cvitkovitch, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Dr. Laura Dempster, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Mr. Irwin Fefergrad, Registrar, Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario
  • Professor Bernhard Ganss, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Professor Marc Grynpas, Dept of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology, Faculty of Medicine
  • Professor Daniel Haas, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Professor Sioban Nelson, Lawrence Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing
  • Dr. Carlos Quinonez, Graduate Student, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Professor Paul Santerre, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Professor Berry Smith, Vice-Dean, Students, School of Graduate Studies
  • Mr. Marc Yarascavitch, DDS Student, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Dr. Carolyn Poon Woo, Alumna

The Committee welcomes comments and nominations from interested persons. These should be sent to the attention of Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, by September 28, 2007, via fax (416.978.3939), mail (Room 225, Simcoe Hall) or by email to