University Professors and President’s Teaching Award

PDAD&C #54, 2006-07



From: Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date: May 3, 2007
Re: University Professors & President’s Teaching Award

I am pleased to advise you that at its meeting yesterday evening, the Academic Board approved the 2007-08 University Professors and the 2007-08 President’s Teaching Award recipients.

President’s Teaching Award

As you are aware, the President’s Teaching Award is designed to recognize faculty with a career commitment to teaching excellence. Recipients of a President's Teaching Award will be designated as a member of the Teaching Academy for a five-year period, at which time they are eligible for re-nomination. The following are the recipients of the President’s Teaching Award for 2007-08:


Professor Marion Bogo Faculty of Social Work
Professor David Dunne Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Senior Lecturer Corey Goldman Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Faculty of Arts & Science
Professor Susan McCahan Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
Senior Lecturer Judith Poë Department of Chemical & Physical Sciences, University of Toronto at Mississauga

University Professors

The University recognizes unusual scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge through the designation of University Professor. Under our Policy and Procedures on Academic Appointments, the number of such appointments should not exceed two per cent of the tenured faculty. The following are the 2007-08 University Professors:

Professor Brad Inwood Department of Classics and Department of Philosophy Faculty of Arts & Science
Professor R.J. Dwayne Miller, Department of Chemistry & Department of Physics Faculty of Arts & Science


I would like to sincerely thank the members of both of the selection committees for their dedicated work in reviewing the many excellent nominations that were received. I also thank all of the nominators who prepared exceptional dossiers for submission.

Please join me in congratulating the 2007-08 University Professors and the 2007-08 President’s Teaching Award recipients on their outstanding accomplishments.

Information about the University Professors is available on-line at: