Review of the Office of Teaching Advancement at the University of Toronto

PDAD&C #44, 2006-7


From: Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date: February 28, 2007
RE:   Review of the Office of Teaching Advancement at the University of Toronto
CC:  The Bulletin

The Office of Teaching Advancement (OTA) was established to support and recognize teaching in all of its forms throughout the University of Toronto.  Professor Ken Bartlett was appointed on January 1, 2002, as its first Director and was joined in June 2002 by Pam Gravestock, now Associate Director.  The office is located in Robarts Library, in space adjacent to the Resource Centre for Academic Technology (RCAT); it incorporates the office of the Teaching Assistants’ Training Programme (TATP).

The mandate of the OTA is to serve the entire University community, developing vital partnerships with existing services while instituting initiatives that both highlight teaching excellence and ensure continuing professional development among the academic staff.  Since the Office of Teaching Advancement has now been in operation for five years, an administrative review is being commissioned to review the OTA’s mandate and operations.  The terms of reference for the review are posted on the Vice-President and Provost Web site.  More information about the Office of Teaching Advancement can be found on its website:

Members of the review committee are:

  • David Farrar (Chair), Deputy Provost and Vice-Provost, Students
  • Edith Hillan, Vice-Provost, Academic
  • Anne Lancashire, Vice-Dean Academic, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Corey Goldman, Senior Lecturer, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Ragnar Buchweitz, Vice-Principal Academic and Dean, UTSC
  • Sarah King, Lecturer, Teaching & Learning Services, Director of Writing Centre, UTSC
  • Lynn Snowden, Assistant Dean, UTM
  • Cleo Boyd, Director, Academic Skills Centre, UTM
  • Mark McGowan, Principal, St. Michaels’ College
  • Mariel O’Neill-Karch, Principal, Woodsworth College
  • Ivan Silver, Vice-Dean, Continuing Education and Professional Development,
    Faculty of Medicine and Director, Centre for Faculty Development
  • Susan McCahan, Chair, First Year, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
  • Carol Rolheiser, Associate Dean, Teacher Education, OISE/UT
  • Tony Chambers, Assistant Professor, Dept. of TPS, OISE/UT and Associate Vice-Provost
  • Berry Smith, Vice-Dean, Students, School of Graduate Studies
  • Rae Johnson, Coordinator, Student Crisis Response Programs, Office of Student Affairs
  • Johanna Weststar, graduate student, U of T Governor
  • Rosanne Lopers-Sweetman (Secretary)

The Committee welcomes comments and suggestions from interested persons.  These should be submitted before March 31, 2007 to Rosanne Lopers-Sweetman, Director, Special Projects, c/o Office of the Provost, Room 225, Simcoe Hall, 27 King’s College Circle, University of Toronto (; ph. 416-978-8994; Fax 416-978-3939).