73 University of Toronto Arts Council Membership

PDAD&C #73, 2005-06


From: Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date: January 26, 2006
Re: University of Toronto Arts Council Membership
CC: President David Naylor
The Bulletin


Further to PDAD&C memo #38 “Call for Nominations – Membership on Arts Council”, I am pleased to announce the membership of the newly-formed University of Toronto Arts Council:

Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost (Chair);
Professor Gage Averill, Dean, Faculty of Music;
Ms Margaret Hancock, Warden, Hart House;
Professor John Astington, Director, Graduate Centre for Study of Drama;
Professor George Baird, Dean, Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design;
Professor Bruce Barton, Department of English and Drama, UTM;
Ms Marilynn Booth, Director, School of Continuing Studies;
Professor William R. Bowen, Chair, Department of Humanities, UTSC;
Professor Caryl Clark, Visual and Performing Arts Program, UTSC;
Professor David Farrar, Deputy Provost and Vice-Provost, Students;
Professor Paul Gooch, President, Victoria University;
Professor Marc Gotlieb, Chair, Department of Fine Art;
Professor Louis Kaplan, Director, Institute of Communication and Culture, UTM;
Professor Pia Kleber, Director, University College Drama Program;
Ms Avon MacFarlane, Interim Assistant Vice-President, Alumni and Development;
Dr. Niamh O’Laoghaire, Director, University of Toronto Art Centre;
Professor Janet Paterson, Principal, Innis College;
Professor Susan Pfeiffer, Dean and Vice-Provost, Graduate Education;
Ms Leslie Stewart-Rose, Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning, OISE/UT;
Professor Rosemary Sullivan, Department of English.


As we received a tremendous number of student nominations, we will be convening all of these students at the first meeting of the Co-Curricular Working Group of the Arts Council, which will be held shortly. At that time, the students will select from among their members nominees for the Arts Council. All students and staff who were nominated for the Arts Council have been invited to join the Co-Curricular Working Group.  In addition, we will be looking to a number of those faculty members who were nominated to join the Academic Working Group of the Arts Council.


I would like to thank everyone who submitted nominations for the Arts Council, and for the degree of interest this initiative has generated.  Ideas or suggestions for consideration by the Arts Council are welcome.  These should be directed to the attention of the Arts Council Secretariat, c/o Rosanne Lopers-Sweetman, Director, Special Projects, in the Office of the Vice-President and Provost, at 978-8994 or r.lopers.sweetman@utoronto.ca  More information about the Arts Council can also be found at www.arts.utoronto.ca