46 Search Committee for a Principal of New College

PDAD&C # 46, 2005-06



Faculty, Staff and Students of New College
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs

FROM: Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
DATE: December 2, 2005
CC: President David Naylor
The Bulletin
RE:  Search Committee for a Principal of New College


Professor David Clandfield’s term as Principal of New College ends on June 30, 2006.  In accordance with section 62 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President David Naylor has appointed a committee to recommend the appointment of a Principal of New College, effective July 1, 2006.  The composition of the committee is as follows:

  • Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost (Co-Chair)
  • Professor David Farrar, Deputy Provost and Vice-Provost, Students (Co-Chair)
  • Professor Sylvia Bashevkin, Principal, University College
  • Professor Elizabeth Cowper, Associate Dean, Div. I, SGS
  • Ms Phuong Du, President, New College Student Council
  • Ms Leah Girardo, New College Equity Commissioner
  • Professor Sean Hawkins, Director, African Studies Program
  • Professor Shahrzad Mojab, Director, Women and Gender Studies Institute
  • Dr. June Larkin, Director, Equity Studies Program
  • Professor Melanie Newton, History/Caribbean Studies Program
  • Ms Lesley Riedstra, President, New College Alumni Association
  • Professor Berry Smith, Director, Human Biology Program
  • Professor Pekka Sinervo, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Ms Judy Snow, Deputy Chief Librarian
  • Professor Lorne Tepperman, Director, Health Studies Program
  • Ms Charmaine Tsang, President, New College Residence Council
  • Ms Sally Walker, Assistant Principal and Registrar
  • Professor Blair Wheaton, Chair, Department of Sociology
  • Dr. Ann Yeoman, Dean of Students

The Committee would welcome nominations and comments from interested persons.  These should be sent to the attention of Carol Robb, Assistant Vice-Provost, by December 19, 2005.  Carol can be reached by phone at 978-6662, fax at 971-1380 or e-mail at carol.robb@utoronto.ca.