29 Search Committee for a Principal of New College

PDAD&C #29, 2005-06



Faculty, Staff and Students of New College 
Members of New College Council 
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs

From:  Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date: October 24, 2005
Re: Search Committee for a Principal of New College
Cc:  David Naylor, President 
The Bulletin


Professor David Clandfield will end his term as Principal of New College on June 30, 2006.  Professor Clandfield is not eligible for re-appointment.

In accordance with Section 62 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, I am writing to call for nominations of individuals to serve on the search committee that will advise the President on the appointment of a new Principal for New College.  The PAAA mandates the composition of the committee as follows: 

  • The Vice-President and Provost or representative (Chair)
  • Three to five members of the teaching staff of the College and/or those who teach in the College’s programs
  • One to three students of the College
  • The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative
  • The Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Science or representative
  • Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside the College, and 
  • A librarian, where appropriate. 
  • In addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a and one or two members of the administrative staff.

The search committee will commence as a review committee, in keeping with the University’s established practice of conducting periodic divisional reviews at the end of a Principal’s term.

Nominations should be sent to the attention of Carol Robb, Assistant Vice-Provost, by November 7.  She can be reached by phone at (416) 978-6662, by fax at (416) 971-1380 or by e-mail at carol.robb@utoronto.ca