90 Search Committee for the Dean of the Faculty of Law

PDAD&C #90, 2004-05


To:     Staff and Students of the Faculty of Law                                                                      Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
From:    Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date:    June 1, 2005
Re:       Search Committee for the Dean of the Faculty of Law
cc:         President Frank Iacobucci                                                                                           The Bulletin

As announced on April 26, Professor Ron Daniels has been appointed as Vice-President at the University of Pennsylvania. Professor Daniels resigned as Dean of the Faculty of Law effective April 30, and Professor Lorne Sossin is serving as Acting Dean.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President Frank Iacobucci has appointed a committee to recommend the appointment of a Dean of the Faculty. The composition of the committee is as follows:

Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost (Chair)
Professor Donald Ainslie, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts and Science
Professor Brian Cantwell-Smith, Faculty of Information Studies
Professor Bruce Chapman, Faculty of Law
Professor Brenda Cossman, Faculty of Law
Ms. Polly Dondy-Kaplan, Undergraduate Student
Anthony Doob, Centre of Criminology, School of Graduate Studies
Professor David Dyzenhaus, Faculty of Law
The Hon. Mr. Justice Stephen T. Goudge, Court of Appeal for Ontario
Mr. Martin Hevia, Graduate Student
Ms. Kate Hilton, Assistant Dean, Alumni & Development
Mr. Clay B. Horner, Partner, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt, LLP
Professor Darlene Johnston, Faculty of Law
Mr. Mike Pal, Undergraduate Student
Professor Susan Pfeiffer, Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Professor Arthur Ripstein, Faculty of Law
Ms. Beatrice Tice, Chief Librarian, Bora Laskin Law Library

We have solicited feedback from the faculty, staff and students of the Faculty regarding an Interim Dean appointment and we will be recommending an Interim Dean to the June 2 meeting of the Academic Board.

The Committee welcomes comments and nominations from interested persons. These should be sent to the attention of Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, by June 25, 2005, via fax (416.978.3939), mail (Room 225, Simcoe Hall) or by email to h.lasthiotakis@utoronto.ca.