88 Search Committee for the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine

PDAD&C #88, 2004-05


To:    Staff and Students of the Faculty of Medicine                                                               Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
From:     Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date:   May 18, 2005
Re:        Search Committee for the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine
CC:      President Frank Iacobucci                                                                                          The Bulletin

As announced, Dean David Naylor has been appointed as President of the University of Toronto. Dean Naylor will be resigning as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine effective mid-June and will take up his new position as President on October 1, 2005.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President Frank Iacobucci has appointed a committee to recommend the appointment of a Dean of the Faculty. The composition of the committee is as follows:

Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost (Chair)
Professor Patricia Brubaker, Departments of Medicine and Physiology, Faculty of Medicine
Professor Luc De Nil, Department of Speech-Language Pathology, Faculty of Medicine
Dr. Barney Giblon, Vice-President, Medical Alumni Association
Professor Joel Kirsh, Department of Paediatrics, Faculty of Medicine
Professor Ulli Krull, Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences, University of Toronto at Mississauga
Ms. Joan Leishman, Director, Gerstein Science Information Centre
Mr. Jeff Lozon, President and Chief Executive Officer, St. Michael’s Hospital
Professor David Mock, Faculty of Dentistry
Ms. Mika L. Nonoyama, PhD candidate, Department of Rehabilitation Science
Professor Susan Pfeiffer, Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Ms. Ramune Pleinys, Chief Administrative Officer, Faculty of Medicine
Professor Robin Richards, Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medicine
Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak, Department of Public Health Sciences, Faculty of Medicine
Professor Pekka Sinervo, Department of Physics, Faculty of Arts and Science
Dr. Gilbert Tang, Post-Graduate Trainee, Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medicine
Dr. Bobby Yanagawa, Undergraduate Student, Faculty of Medicine

We have solicited feedback from the faculty, staff and students of the Faculty regarding an Interim Dean appointment and we will be recommending an Interim Dean to Academic Board.

The Committee welcomes comments and nominations from interested persons. These should be sent to the attention of Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, by June 20, 2005, via fax (416.978.3939), mail (Room 225, Simcoe Hall) or by email to h.lasthiotakis@utoronto.ca.