1 Call for Nominations for the Search Committee for Dean of the Faculty of Forestry

PDAD&C # 01, 2004-05


To: Staff and Students of the Faculty of Forestry 
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
From: Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
Date: July 19, 2004
Re: Call for Nominations for the Search Committee for Dean of the Faculty of Forestry
cc :

President R. Birgeneau
The Bulletin

On June 30, 2005, Professor Rorke Bryan will complete his term as Dean of the Faculty of Forestry.  He is not eligible for reappointment.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators (Perron Rules), I am writing to call for nominations of individuals to serve on the search committee that will advise the President on the
appointment of a new Dean.

The Perron Rules mandate the potential composition of the search committee as follows:

  • Vice-President and Provost or designate (Chair);
  • Three to five members of the teaching staff of the Faculty; 
  • One to three students of the Faculty; 
  • The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative; 
  • A librarian, where appropriate; 
  • Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside the Faculty; 
  • In addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff, and a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

The search committee will commence as a review committee, in keeping with the University’s established practice of conducting periodic divisional reviews at the end of a Dean or Principal’s term.  The Faculty will conduct a self-study, which is due by September 3, 2004, and there will be an external review of the Faculty in the fall term.

The external reviewers will be asked to comment on specific issues related to leadership and administration, and the role of the Dean’s Office within the Faculty.  The self-study, the Faculty’s academic plan and the report of the external reviewers will be considered by the search committee in their review.

The search committee will begin meeting in the fall with the objective of completing the review by the end of the fall term, and identifying a new Dean early in the year 2005, to allow for a smooth transition.  Nominations for the committee should be sent via Provost’s web site online form at www.provost.utoronto.ca > Committees > Search Committees http://www.provost.utoronto.ca/userfiles/HTML/nts_6_1628_1.html ).
Nominations should be sent by September 10, 2004.

Questions should be directed to Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning by phone at 416.946.0501 or email h.lasthiotakis@utoronto.ca.