Accommodation for Religious Observances

PDAD&C #12, 2001-2002

M E M O R A N D U M

TO:   Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
FROM:   Adel Sedra, Vice-President and Provost
DATE:   September 4, 2001
RE:   Accommodation for Religious Observances

I am writing to remind you of the University's policy concerning the scheduling of classes and examinations and the accommodation for religious observances. The religious observances of the major Christian denominations are recognized through ordinary University scheduling and statutory holidays. It is the University's policy to make every effort to accommodate students, staff and faculty who observe other religious Holy Days.

The Governing Council resolution stipulates that no examination should be scheduled "on the first and second days of Rosh Hashanah or on Yom Kippur or on the first two days and the last two days of Passover". It also states that "the first day of classes in the fall term in all teaching divisions should not be scheduled on the first and second days of Rosh Hashanah or on Yom Kippur". This resolution is interpreted to apply to the first day of classes in any given course and not only to the first day of the autumn term. Sessional dates and schedules should be set in such a way as to avoid the necessity of canceling classes without make up.

While the Governing Council resolution makes no special provision for other Holy Days, it is most important that no student be seriously disadvantaged because of her or his religious observances. Students may wish to be excused from classes or examinations for religious reasons on Holy Days other than those provided for in the Governing Council resolution, or on the Jewish Sabbath (one-and-a-half hours before sunset Friday to one-and-a-half hours after sunset Saturday), or on Fridays at 1:00 p.m. for Muslim community prayers. It is assumed that every effort will be made to avoid tests, examinations or other compulsory activities at these times. If compulsory activities are unavoidable, every opportunity should be given to these students to make up work that they miss, particularly in courses involving laboratory work. When the scheduling of tests or examinations cannot be avoided, students should be informed of the procedure to be followed to arrange to write at an alternate time.

The relevant dates for the remainder of this academic year and the next year are attached. For more information regarding religious observances and Holy Days, you may contact the Office of Student Affairs, at 978-5536.




ACCOMMODATION FOR RELIGIOUS OBSERVANCES

 

Spring, Summer, Fall 2001

Spring, Summer, Fall 2002

Eid-ul-Adha

Monday March 05 and Tuesday March 06, 2001.

Friday February 22, and Saturday February 23, 2002.

First two days of Passover

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Saturday April 07 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Monday April 09, 2001.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Wednesday March 27 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Friday March 29, 2002.

Last two days of Passover

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Friday April 13 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Sunday April 15, 2001.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Tuesday April 02 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Thursday April 04, 2002.

Shavuot

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Sunday May 27 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Tuesday May 29, 2001.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Thursday May 16 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Saturday May 18, 2002.

Rosh Hashanah

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Monday September 17 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Wednesday September 19, 2001.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Friday September 06 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Sunday September 08, 2002.

Yom Kippur

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Wednesday September 26 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Thursday September 27, 2001.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Sunday September 15 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Monday September 16, 2002.

Sukkot

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Monday October 01 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Wednesday October 03, 2001.

From about one-and-a-half hours before sunset on Friday September 20 to about one-and-a-half hours after sunset on Sunday September 22, 2002.

 

Winter 2002

Winter 2003

Ramadan

Saturday November 17, 2001 to Monday December 17, 2001 Muslims may fast from dawn to dusk, abstaining from food and drink. Examinations scheduled in the evening may pose a special burden.

Wednesday November 06 to Friday December 06, 2002 Muslims may fast from dawn to dusk, abstaining from food and drink. Examinations scheduled in the evening may pose a special burden.

Eid-ul-Fitr

Monday December 17 and Tuesday December 18, 2001.

Friday December 06 and Saturday December 07, 2002.

Lunar New Year

Tuesday February 12, 2002.

Saturday February 01, 2003.